Mission Monday {1}: back on the bandwagon, just as I am…

Well, hello there! It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I have decided to jump back on the blogging bandwagon, much like my friend, Brooke, mainly because our other friend, Meghan, started a link-up for FOCUS missionaries (and anyone else living the New Evangelization!) Mission Monday is hopefully going to take off and I wanted to be a part of it! 

I can’t really put a finger on why I stopped blogging. Maybe it was laziness. Maybe it was pregnancy sicknesses and responsibilities which (nine months later) turned into mommy responsibilities. Let’s be real though, a lot of it was laziness. But as I was praying today, another thought came to mind. Maybe it was my desire for perfection and knowing that my blog wasn’t quite perfect, so there was no point in writing until it was just how I wanted it … But who cares? Does my chosen WordPress theme really mean anything in terms of our life as missionaries? No. So there you have it, I’m back. 

And I am back, just as I am. God isn’t calling me to be a picture perfect wife, mother, missionary, blogger, etc. No. He is calling me to be the best I can be, and to strive for Heaven. That’s what He is calling all of us to. 

And really, that is one of my favorite parts of being a missionary family, striving for Heaven and taking whomever we can with us. As a FOCUS family, Andrew and I are pretty real about what a modern day Catholic family looks like. We don’t sugar coat things to the ever watchful students. They know that sometimes our house is messy. They know that sometimes dinner gets burned and pizza gets ordered.  They know that sometimes we argue. They know that we aren’t always the best of communicators. They know that we aren’t perfect. They know that we love each other and are trying to pull one another to become Saints and to raise Saints. 

It is our joy and privilege to serve this mission, even if it isn’t always pretty. We share our life with these students, our real life. What are you sharing?

–Christi 
PS – an update for anyone who doesn’t already know — since my last post almost two years ago, we had a baby! Meet Zachary! More details and photo dumps to come! 

  

Leave a Reply

